What's In Blue

Latest post: Wed 29 Mar 2023

Insights on the work of the UN Security Council

Open Debate: Silencing the Guns in Africa

On Thursday (30 March), the Security Council will hold an open debate on “Peace and security in Africa: The impact of development policies in the implementation of the Silencing the Guns initiative”. The anticipated briefers are: Cristina Duarte, Special Adviser of the UN Secretary-General on Africa; Mohamed Ibn Chambas, High Representative of the AU for the Silencing the Guns Initiative; Mirko Manzoni, Personal Envoy of the UN Secretary-General for Mozambique; and a civil society representative. President Filipe Jacinto Nyusi of Mozambique is expected to chair the meeting.


Continue reading