Research Report

Posted 28 May 2024
Download Publication: PDF

Security Council Elections 2024

To read the full report, please download the PDF here.

On 6 June, the 78th session of the UN General Assembly is scheduled to hold elections for membership of the Security Council. The five seats available for election in 2024, according to the regular distribution among regions, will be as follows: 

  • one seat for the African Group (currently held by Mozambique);  
  • one seat for the Asia-Pacific Group (currently held by Japan);  
  • one seat for the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC, currently held by Ecuador); and  
  • two seats for the Western European and Others Group (WEOG, currently held by Malta and Switzerland).  

The five new members elected this year will take up their seats on 1 January 2025 and will serve until 31 December 2026.