Research Report

Posted 2 June 2021
Download Publication: PDF

Security Council Elections 2021


To view the full report, please download the PDF here.

The 75th session of the UN General Assembly is scheduled to hold elections for the Security Council on 11 June for five non-permanent members of the Security Council for the term 2022-2023.

The five seats available for election in 2021, according to the regular distribution among regions, will be as follows:

  • two seats for the African Group (currently held by Niger and Tunisia);
  • one seat for the Group of Asia and the Pacific Small Island Developing States (Asia-Pacific Group) (currently held by Viet Nam);[1]
  • one seat for the Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC, currently held by Saint Vincent and the Grenadines); and
  • one seat for the Eastern European Group (currently held by Estonia).

The Western European and Others Group (WEOG) is not contesting any seats this year, as its two seats, held by Ireland and Norway through 2022, come up for election every other year. The five new members elected this year will take up their seats on 1 January 2022 and will serve until 31 December 2023.