Research Report

Posted 28 May 2020
Download Publication: PDF

Security Council Elections 2020

To view the full report, please download the PDF here.

On 17 June, the 74th session of the UN General Assembly is scheduled to hold elections for the Security Council, in a manner resulting from the global COVID-19 pandemic which compelled the closure of the UN headquarters in mid-March. According to the General Assembly decision adopted on 29 May, member states would cast ballots during designated time slots at the General Assembly Hall due to limitations on large gatherings at the UN due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Casting of ballots will be covered live on the UN webcast and the President of General Assembly will oversee the process on site. The same method would be used for additional rounds of balloting, if required.

The five seats available for election in 2020 according to the regular distribution among regions will be as follows:

  • one seat for the African Group (currently held by South Africa);
  • one seat for the Asia-Pacific Group (currently held by Indonesia);
  • one seat for the Latin American and the Caribbean Group (GRULAC, currently held by the Dominican Republic); and
  • two seats for the Western Europe and Others Group (WEOG, currently held by Belgium and Germany).

The Eastern European Group is not contesting any seats this year as its seat, held by Estonia through 2021, comes up for election every other year.

The five new members elected this year will take up their seats on 1 January 2021 and will serve until 31 December 2022.


Click here to view a comprehensive review of elections for non-permanent members of the Security Council, 1946-2019.

Subscribe to receive SCR publications