

2023 Chairs of Subsidiary Bodies and Penholders

COUNTRY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY
Afghanistan	Japan and UAE	Hernán Pérez Loose (Ecuador; 2023-24) 1988 Taliban Sanctions Committee
Armenia/Azerbaijan	France	N/A
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Rotating on a monthly basis among members of the Contact and Drafting Group	N/A
Burundi	France	N/A
Central Africa (UNOCA/LRA)	UK	N/A
Central African Republic	France	Harold Adlai Agyeman (Ghana; 2022-23) 2127 CAR Sanctions Committee
Central Asia (UNRCCA)	Russia	N/A
Colombia	UK	N/A
Cyprus	UK	N/A
Democratic Republic of the Congo	France	Michel Xavier Biang (Gabon; 2022-23) 1533 DRC Sanctions Committee
DPRK (Non-proliferation)	US	Pascale Christine Baeriswyl (Switzerland; 2023-24) 1718 DPRK Sanctions Committee
Ethiopia/Tigray	N/A	N/A
Golan Heights (UNDOF)	Russia and the US	N/A
Great Lakes Region	France	N/A
Guinea-Bissau	N/A	Lana Zaki Nusseibeh (United Arab Emirates; 2022-23) 2048 Guinea-Bissau Committee
Haiti	US and Ecuador	Michel Xavier Biang (Gabon; 2022-23) 2653 Haiti Sanctions Committee
Iran (Non-proliferation)	US	N/A
iraq	US on Iraq; UK on Iraq/Kuwait	Ferit Hoxha (Albania; 2022-23) 1518 Iraq Sanctions Committee
Lebanon	France	Ferit Hoxha (Albania; 2022-23) 1636 Lebanon Sanctions Committee
Liberia	US	N/A (The 1521 Liberia Sanctions Committee was dissolved on 25 May 2016.)
Libya	UK	Kimihiro Ishikane (Japan; 2023-24) 1970 Libya Sanctions Committee
Libya-authorisations to inspect vessels on the high seas off the coast of Libya	France	N/A
Mali	France	Pedro Comissário Afonso (Mozambique; 2023-24) 2374 Mali Sanctions Committee
Middle East (Israel/Palestine)	The US is often seen as the lead, but various other Council members have drafted recent proposals on the issue.	N/A
Myanmar	UK	N/A
Somalia	UK	Kimihiro Ishikane (Japan; 2023-24) 751 Somalia Sanctions Committee
Sudan and South Sudan	The UK is the penholder on Sudan; The US is the penholder on South Sudan, Sudan/South Sudan, Sudan sanctions and South Sudan sanctions	Michel Xavier Biang (Gabon; 2022-23) 2206 South Sudan Sanctions Committee Harold Adlai Agyeman (Ghana; 2022-23) 1591 Sudan Sanctions Committee

COUNTRY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY
yria	Brazil and Switzerland lead on humanitarian issues	N/A
Jkraine	There are no clear penholders on Ukraine. While Albania and the US may be considered political co-penholders and Ecuador and France humanitarian co-penholders, Russia has also drafted texts, and other members have been active in calling for meetings on the issue.	N/A
emen	UK	Ferit Hoxha (Albania; 2022-23) 2140 Yemen Sanctions Committee
Vest Africa, including the Sahel	Ghana and Switzerland	N/A
Vestern Sahara	US	N/A
Children and Armed Conflict	Malta	Vanessa Frazier (Malta; 2023-24) Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict
Counter-Terrorism 1267/1989/2253)	US	Vanessa Frazier (Malta; 2023-24) 1267/1989/2253 Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) (Da'esh)/Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee
Counter-Terrorism (1373)	us	Lana Zaki Nusseibeh (United Arab Emirates; 2022-23) 1373 Counter-Terrorism Committee
Counter-Terrorism (1566)	US	Lana Zaki Nusseibeh (United Arab Emirates; 2022-23) 1566 Working Group
nternational Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals	Gabon	Michel Xavier Biang (Gabon; 2022-23) Informal Working Group on International Tribunals
Non-proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destructions (1540)	Ecuador	Hernán Pérez Loose (Ecuador; 2023-24) 1540 Committee
eace and Security in Africa	N/A	Pedro Comissário Afonso (Mozambique; 2023-24) Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa
Peacekeeping	UK	Harold Adlai Agyeman (Ghana; 2022-23) Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations
Protection of Civilians in Armed Conflict	UK	UK Protection of Civilians Informal Expert Group
Vomen, Peace and Security	UK on WPS; US on sexual violence in conflict	UAE and Switzerland 2242 Informal Expert Group on Women, Peace and Security
Vorking Methods	Albania	Ferit Hoxha (Albania; 2022-23) Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions
Climate Change and Security	No clear penholder	UAE (2023), Switzerland (2023-24), and Mozambique (2023-24) are co-chairs of the Informal Expert Group