

2020 Chairs of Subsidiary Bodies and Penholders

COUNTY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY	COUNTY-SITUATION OR THEMATIC MATTER	CURRENT PENHOLDER IN THE COUNCIL	CHAIR OF THE RELEVANT COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODY
Afghanistan	Germany and Indonesia	Dian Triansyah Djani (Indonesia) 1988 Taliban Sanctions Committee	Syria	Belgium and Germany lead on humanitarian issues	N/A
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Rotating on a monthly basis among members of the Contact and Drafting Group	N/A	Ukraine	There is no clear penholder for Ukraine. Both Russia and the US have drafted texts, and other members have been active in calling for	N/A
Burundi	France	N/A		meetings on the issue.	
Central Africa (UNOCA/LRA)	UK	N/A	Yemen	UK	Inga Rhonda King (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines) 2140 Yemen Sanctions Committee
Central African Republic	France	Abdou Abarry (Niger) 2127 CAR Sanctions Committee	West Africa, including the Sahel	Belgium and Niger	N/A
Central Asia (UNRCCA)	Russia	N/A	Western Sahara	US	N/A
Colombia	UK	N/A	Western Sanara		
Côte d'Ivoire	France	N/A (The 1572 Côte d'Ivoire Sanctions Committee was dissolved on 28 April 2016.)	Children and Armed Conflict	Belgium	Marc Pecsteen de Buytswerve (Belgium) Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict
Cyprus	UK	N/A			
Democratic Republic of the Congo	France	Abdou Abarry (Niger) 1533 DRC Sanctions Committee	Counterterrorism (1267/1989/2253)	US	Dian Triansyah Djani (Indonesia) 1267/1989/2253 Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) (Da'esh)/Al-Qaida Sanctions Committee
DPRK (Non-proliferation)	US	Christoph Heusgen (Germany) 1718 DPRK Sanctions Committee	Counterterrorism (1373)	US	Moncef Baati (Tunisia)
Golan Heights (UNDOF)	Russia and the US	N/A	Counterterronsm (1373)	03	1373 Counterterrorism Committee
Guinea-Bissau	Niger	Moncef Baati (Tunisia) 2048 Guinea-Bissau Committee	Counterterrorism (1566)	US	Abdou Abarry (Niger)
Haiti	US in consultation with the Group of Friends of Haiti	N/A			1566 Working Group
Iran (Non-proliferation)	US	N/A	International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals	Viet Nam	Dang Dinh Quy (Viet Nam) Informal Working Group on International Tribunals
Iraq	US on Iraq; UK on Iraq/Kuwait	Sven Jürgenson (Estonia) 1518 Iraq Sanctions Committee	Non-proliferation of Weapons of	Indonesia	Dian Triansyah Djani (Indonesia)
Lebanon	France	Dang Dinh Quy (Viet Nam) 1636 Lebanon Sanctions Committee	Mass Destructions (1540) Peace and Security in Africa	N/A	1540 Committee Jerry Matthews Matjila (South Africa)
Liberia	US	N/A (The 1521 Liberia Sanctions Committee was dissolved on 25 May 2016.)			Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa
			Peacekeeping	UK	Moncef Baati (Tunisia) Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations
Libya	UK; UK and Germany on Libya sanctions	Jürgen Schulz (Germany) 1970 Libya Sanctions Committee			
Mali	France	José Singer Weisinger (Dominican Republic) 2374 Mali Sanctions Committee	Protection of Civilians in Armed Conflict	UK	UK Protection of Civilians Informal Expert Group
Middle East (Israel/Palestine)	The US is often seen as the lead, but various other Council members have drafted recent proposals on the issue.	N/A	Women, Peace and Security	UK on WPS; US on sexual violence in conflict	Germany and the Dominican Republic 2242 Informal Expert Group on Women, Peace and Security
Somalia	UK; US on piracy	Marc Pecsteen de Buytswerve (Belgium) 751 Somalia Sanctions Committee	Working Methods	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	Inga Rhonda King (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines) Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions
Sudan and South Sudan	Germany and UK on Darfur; US on Sudan and South Sudan	Dang Dinh Quy (Viet Nam) 2206 South Sudan Sanctions Committee Sven Jürgenson (Estonia) 1591 Sudan Sanctions Committee	For more info on our publications visit: securitycouncilreport.org		
			For daily insights by SCR on evolving Security Council actions please subscribe to our "What's In Blue" series at whatsinblue.org or follow @SCRtweets on Twitter.		