

## Fact Sheet on the 1988 Taliban Sanctions Committee (2011)

Chair (as of October 2024)	Ambassador José Javier De La Gasca (Ecuador)
Mandate	The Committee is mandated to:
	oversee the implementation of the sanctions measures;
	<ul> <li>designate individuals and entities who meet the listing criteria as contained in the relevant resolutions;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>consider and decide upon notifications and requests for exemptions from the sanctions measures;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>consider and decide upon requests to remove a name from the 1988 Sanctions List;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>conduct periodic and specialised reviews of the entries on the 1988 Sanctions List;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>examine the reports presented by the Monitoring Team;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>report periodically to the Security Council on the implementation of the sanctions measures;</li> </ul>
	conduct outreach activities.
Types of Sanctions	Arms embargo, travel ban and assets freeze.
Monitoring Mechanism/ Panel of Experts	The Committee is supported by the Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team pursuant to resolutions 1526 (2004) and 2253 (2015) concerning ISIL (Da'esh), Al-Qaida and the Taliban and associated individuals and entities, which comprises ten experts based in New York. Its current mandate was extended by paragraph 2 of Security Council resolution 2716 (2023) until December 2024.
	The monitoring team submitted its last report in July 2024.
Committee Website	Taliban Sanctions Committee

## **UN Documents**

## **Security Council Resolutions**

S/RES/2716 (14 December 2023) renewed the mandate of the Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team for a period of 12 months.

S/RES/1988 (17 June 2011) established a separate Taliban/Afghanistan sanctions regime, with a separate list of Taliban individuals and entities subject to sanctions and a new Afghanistan focused sanctions committee.

## Other

S/2024/499 (3 July 2024) was a note was a letter containing the Monitoring Team's fifteenth report to the committee

S/2023/1010 (19 December 2023) was from José Javier De La Gasca, chair of the 1988 Taliban Sanctions Committee, transmitting the 2023 annual report of the committee.