



6 January 2009 No. 1

1

## **SECURITY COUNCIL SUBSIDIARY BODIES**

The Security Council on 6 January 2009 agreed to elect the following chairpersons of Council committees, sanctions committees, and working groups:

Committee	Relevant Resolution	2009 Chairperson	2008 Chairperson
Counter-Terrorism	S/RES/1373 (2001)	HE Neven Jurica (Croatia)	HE Mirjana Mladineo, HE Neven Jurica (as of 19 February 2008) (Croatia)
		Vice Chairs: France, Russian Federation and Viet Nam	
Terrorism/Weapons of Mass Destruction	S/RES/1540 (2004)	HE Jorge Urbina (Costa Rica)	HE Jorge Urbina (Costa Rica)
		Vice Chairs: Croatia, Mexico and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	
Sanctions Committee	Relevant Resolution	2009 Chairperson	2008 Chairperson
Somalia	S/RES/751 (1992)	HE Claude Heller (Mexico)	HE Dumisani Kumalo (South Africa)
		Vice Chairs: Croatia and Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	

Security Council Report One Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 885 Second Avenue at 48th Street, 31st Floor, New York NY 10017

Sierra Leone	S/RES/1132 (1997)	HE Le Luong Minh (Viet Nam)	HE Le Luong Minh (Viet Nam)
		Vice Chairs: Libyan Arab	
		Jamahiriya and Turkey	
Al-Qaida / Taliban	S/RES/1267 (1999)	HE Thomas Mayr-Harting (Austria)	HE Johan C. Verbeke, HE Jan Grauls (as of 5 June 2008) (Belgium)
		Vice Chairs: Burkina Faso and Russian Federation	
Iraq	S/RES/1518 (2003)	HE Michel Kafando (Burkina Faso)	HE Michel Kafando (Burkina Faso)
		Vice Chair: Japan	
Liberia	S/RES/1521 (2003)	HE Giadalla A. Ettalhi (Libya)	HE Giadalla A. Ettalhi (Libya)
		Vice Chairs: Turkey and Uganda	
Democratic Republic of the Congo	S/RES/1533 (2004)	HE Baki Ilkin (Turkey)	HE R.M. Marty M. Natalegawa (Indonesia)
		Vice Chairs: Costa Rica and Viet Nam	
Côte d'Ivoire	S/RES/1572 (2004)	HE Claude Heller (Mexico)	HE Johan C. Verbeke, HE Jan Grauls (as of 5 June 2008) (Belgium)
		Vice Chairs: Austria and Uganda	
Sudan/Darfur	S/RES/1591 (2005)	HE Thomas Mayr-Harting	HE Marcello Spatafora, HE Giulio Terzi di Sant'Agata (as of 20 August 2008) (Italy)
		Vice Chairs: Croatia and Mexico	
Lebanon	S/RES/1636 (2005)	HE Michel Kafando (Burkina Faso)	HE Michel Kafando (Burkina Faso)
		Vice Chairs: Austria and Viet Nam	
(DPRK) North Korea	S/RES/1718 (2006)	HE Baki Ilkin (Turkey)	HE Marcello Spatafora, HE Giulio Terzi di Sant'Agata (as of 20 August 2008) (Italy)
		Vice Chairs: Costa Rica and Libyan Arab Jamahiriya	
Iran	S/RES/1737 (2006)	HE Yukio Takasu (Japan)	HE Johan C. Verbeke, HE Jan Grauls (as of 5 June 2008) (Belgium)
		Vice Chairs: Burkina Faso and Costa Rica	

Security Council Report One Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 885 Second Avenue at 48<sup>th</sup> Street, 31<sup>st</sup> Floor, New York NY 10017

Working Group	<b>Relevant Document</b>	2009 Chairperson	2008 Chairperson
Peacekeeping	S/PRST/2001/3	HE Yukio Takasu (Japan)	HE R.M. Marty M. Natalegawa
			(Indonesia)
Conflict Prevention &	S/2002/207	HE Ruhakana Rugunda (Uganda)	HE Dumisani Kumalo (South
Resolution in Africa			Africa)
Additional measures on	S/RES/1566 (2004)	HE Neven Jurica (Croatia)	HE Mirjana Mladineo, HE Neven
Terrorism			Jurica (as of 19 February 2008)
			(Croatia)
Children in Armed Conflict	S/RES/1612 (2005)	HE Claude Heller (Mexico)	HE Jean-Maurice Ripert (France)
Documentation and Other	S/2006/66	HE Yukio Takasu (Japan)	HE Ricardo Alberto Arias (Panama)
Procedural Questions			
International Tribunals		HE Thomas Mayr-Harting (Austria)	HE Johan C. Verbeke, HE Jan
			Grauls (as of 5 June 2008)
			(Belgium)

## **UN Documents**

## S/2009/2 (6 January 2009) decided the elections for chairpersons and vice chairs of Council committees, sanctions committees, and working groups for the period ending 31 December 2009. S/PES/1822 (10, July 2009) was the Security Council's decision to terminate the remaining measures, contained in

• S/RES/1823 (10 July 2008) was the Security Council's decision to terminate the remaining measures, contained in paragraphs 9 and 10 of resolution 1011 (1995), and to dissolve the Committee established pursuant to resolution 918 (1994) concerning Rwanda.