United Nations



 $A_{69/253} - S_{2014/521}$

Distr.: General 4 August 2014

Original: English

Security Council

Sixty-ninth year

General Assembly Sixty-ninth session Item 112 (c) of the provisional agenda* Elections to fill vacancies in principal organs: election of five members of the International Court of Justice

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Note by the Secretary-General**

1. By a communication dated 31 January 2014 addressed on behalf of the Secretary-General to the national groups of the States parties to the Statute of the International Court of Justice, attention was drawn to the fact that the terms of office of the following five members of the Court will expire on 5 February 2015:

Mr. Bernardo Sepúlveda-Amor (Mexico) Mr. Kenneth Keith (New Zealand) Mr. Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco) Mr. Leonid Skotnikov (Russian Federation) Ms. Joan E. Donoghue (United States of America)

2. In conformity with Article 4 and Article 13 of the Statute of the Court, the General Assembly and the Security Council, during the sixty-ninth session of the General Assembly, will elect five judges for a period of nine years, beginning on 6 February 2015. In accordance with Article 5, paragraph 1, of the Statute of the Court, national groups were thus invited to undertake the nomination of persons in a position to accept the duties of a member of the Court and to submit such nominations to the Secretary-General no later than 30 June 2014.

3. In accordance with Article 7 of the Statute of the Court, the Secretary-General has the honour to submit to the General Assembly and to the Security Council a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated (see annex).

4. The composition of the Court and the voting procedure to be followed in the General Assembly and in the Security Council are set out in a memorandum by the Secretary-General (A/69/230-S/2014/520). The curricula vitae of the candidates appear in document A/69/254-S/2014/522.

^{**} In accordance with the Statute of the International Court of Justice, the Secretary-General requested States parties to the Statute to provide nominations to the Court from national groups by 30 June 2014. The present document could therefore not be prepared earlier.





^{*} A/69/150.

Annex

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
Agatt, Jemal (Mauritania)	Mauritania
Arivony, Eugénie Liliane (Madagascar)	Madagascar
Bennouna, Mohamed (Morocco)	Argentina
	China
	Denmark
	Finland
	France
	Iceland
	Morocco
	Norway
	Peru
	Russian Federation
	Spain
Bula-Bula, Sayeman (Democratic Republic of the Congo)	Democratic Republic of the Congo
Cerutti, Susana Ruiz (Argentina)	Argentina
	Australia
	Brazil
	Colombia
	France
	Germany
	Greece
	Iceland
	Morocco
	Peru
	Spain

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
Crawford, James Richard (Australia)	Argentina
	Australia
	Austria
	Canada
	China
	Colombia
	Costa Rica
	Croatia
	Denmark
	Finland
	Germany
	Greece
	Iceland
	Italy
	Malaysia
	Malta
	Mexico
	Morocco
	Netherlands
	New Zealand
	Norway
	Poland
	Slovakia
	Sweden
	Thailand
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	Viet Nam

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
Donoghue, Joan E. (United States of America)	Australia
	Austria
	Canada
	China
	Colombia
	Denmark
	France
	Greece
	Iceland
	Ireland
	Italy
	Mexico
	Netherlands
	New Zealand
	Norway
	Peru
	Republic of Korea
	Russian Federation
	Slovakia
	Sweden
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	United States of America
Gevorgian, Kirill (Russian Federation)	Belarus
	China
	Colombia
	France
	Greece
	Japan

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	Morocco
	Peru
	Republic of Korea
	Russian Federation
	Slovakia
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	United States of America
Robinson, Patrick Lipton (Jamaica)	Canada
	Finland
	Jamaica
	Italy
	Slovakia
	Sweden
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland